How I Feel Right Now

Its Double Wide Wednesday so stay tuned for another update today. But as of right now, here are somethings to peruse while you sip your morning coffee.

JR in LA

Also for those of you that don’t know (and you really should by now) I am a huge closet nerd. So I sorta freaked out when I found out this is happening.  The Hobbit..

I almost cried to be honest. I guess I will go into a long personal narrative that most of you probably won’t care about cause .. well humans are selfish people and have no feeling @.@ anyway.. When I was about 11 years old, and the first lord of the rings movie was set to come out, I was in summer camp (yes I know that dates me and if you are smart-ish you can figure it out- good for you). Well without divulging too much information it was a month long overnight camp somewhere with a lot pine trees and is situated on a lake, we lived in wood cabins with no electricity and mosquito nets. My councilors name that year was Peter, he was from Canada and was probably about 22 at the time.

Starting on the first day of camp, Peter would read us a few pages from the Hobbit each night (such  a cool guy, don’t laugh). Well a month goes by, and somehow, on the last day of camp we are set to finish the book. I don’t know if it was planned, I sort of find it hard to believe a 22 year old could plan that so perfectly in advance but anyway it was awesome.

It is the last night of camp, everyone’s parents will come and pick them up in the morning. Peter starts reading, and his voice is starting to shake already. Mind you we are all 11/12 and no one knows what is up. So one of my friend asks what is wrong and Peter says, “I am sorry guys, but this is going to be incredibly tough. I have come to know and love all you little munchkins over the last month and this is probably the last time I will ever see you.” (or something like that).

I like to think also part of his emotions were that he didn’t know what was going to happen to Bilbo, but anyway he continues reading. So the whole ending happens, Bilbo goes back to Bag End and, well, Peter just starts balling and hugging everyone. Mind you we are in the middle of the woods, in a log cabin with no electricity, hes reading by flashlight- and everyone just starts crying. Sadist and happy-ist moment of my life up to that point. The fact that someone (who is basically my age now) was brought to tears just because he knew me, and my friends.. well.

Viva la hobbit.  I’m going to go sit in a corner and contemplate my life for a while.

Leave Comments People. I would really like to start getting some more dialogue with you guys – I KNOW YOU READ the posts!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Art, Featured Artist

Comment! You know you want to

